The New „We“

Working together!

 

This morning I gave a devotional message in our aviation department. I read Philippians 2:1-11 and explained how I have tried to let Christ’s attitude (v5-8) guide my interactions with the pastors in the North Fly, considering what they share with me to be more important than what I have to share with them (v3).

I then briefly described the new direction we taking in the North Fly. I mentioned the workshop series that we plan to kick off next year and the mentoring that each pastor will receive.

I also mentioned that we are asking God to open the doors to Papua New Guineans with long-time service in Wycliffe. One senior aircraft mechanic, who is a Papua New Guinean, asked insightful questions and prayed for us in the prayer time at the end.

This experience gave me renewed motivation to look for ways to open doors to working with educated citizens of PNG who want to be part of the team reaching out to the rural areas.

People from richer countries tend to think of missionary work in terms of what „we“ do for „them“. My dream is for a new „we“ that includes the believers in the country we are working in. Opening the door for educated Papua New Guineans to work cross-culturally within their own country also builds potential for the Church here to reach out into other parts of the world.

This is another important ongoing prayer need. This is a huge challenge that we are committed to facing and are looking for practical solutions.

Kommentar verfassen

